A different kind of teaching for me

May 28, 2010 at 12:01 pm | Posted in education, life, local, motorcycles | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’ve begun the process of becoming a RiderCoach for the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF). The first step is to take the Basic Rider Course (BRC) and pass it with flying colors. I’m registered for the class at SUNY Canton that goes from June 11 – 13. Check.

Then the good folks at Adirondack and Beyond Motorcycle Rider Training (ADKMC) who run the classes at SUNY Canton decide that they’d love to sponsor me for the RiderCoach Preparation course (RCP). Then the folks at the New York State Motorcycle Safety Program (NYSMSP) enroll me in a local RCP, and I continue studying and volunteer to help out with (or just watch) some BRCs.

The RCP lasts about three 3-day weekends, or they may schedule it differently. Quite a commitment. There’s a knowledge test and a skills test. After passing that, I can teach the BRC for ADKMC!

The site coordinator there says teaching three courses a year (out of 18 offered) is a minimum. Less than that and you start to get rusty. I imagine they have RiderCoaches scheduled for all of the courses this season. Perhaps when I pass the RCP I’ll offer to cover any of the current RiderCoaches if they want to back out of a course they’ve already committed to and do something else that weekend.

I’m really jazzed about this. It’s something that involves a different area of my brain than my regular job, and it’ll be nice doing something non-college related during the summer. Not as good as being a tour guide in the Grand Canyon, but I’m liking the idea of it.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good luck! Sounds like fun.

  2. I’ve taken the BRC. They introduce riding in a way that I think you’ll like, and it’s a way that you didn’t think to introduce it. I think you’ll like it because they’ve broken it down in very logical steps, and I think that you didn’t think to break it down that way because it’s been so many years for you that you couldn’t even perceive of the steps they broken it down to. I think that if you weren’t such a patient man, the first few hours would be difficult for you. However, your patience and interest in seeing how people react to different experiences will really help you out here. You’ll be so busy seeing how you react and also seeing what it is that you learn that you’ll probably find the entire experience very interesting.

    Don’t forget that I need you to decide if I should retake BRC or go on to the next level!

  3. I passed the BRC. Woohoo! Now it’s time to set up the RCP. If they would only tell me when it is, that would be great.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

