Monday: not as good as it should be, not as bad as it could be.

January 11, 2010 at 9:15 am | Posted in food, life | 5 Comments

I got to my office this morning and realized that I did not have my mug of coffee. My 32 ounce cup of organic, fair trade, locally roasted, freshly ground coffee made in my french press … it was gone. I must have left it on my kitchen counter. Even worse, I had some before I left my house, and that coffee tasted good.

That description makes me sound like such a coffee snob, and I am, though I’m not as bad as some. For instance, when having a breakfast at the local greasy spoon I’ll drink a cup of diner coffee and ask for a refill with a smile. I’m not as picky about my coffee as I am about my beer, for example. I’ll drink water before Bud. (Unless I’m a guest at someone’s house who drinks it. When in Rome, don’t look a gift horse in the mouth.)

So it wasn’t as if I couldn’t get a cup of Maxwell House in the lunch room, it’s just that I took the time to make it and now it’s wasted. Wasted coffee … wasted *good* coffee, and wasted time.

The hell with that. I’m only 5-10 minutes away from home anyway, and I realized my lack of coffee just as I reached my office so I know that cup of coffee’s still hot. It’s a pain in the neck, but I’ll go and save the good coffee. Also, sometimes when you have to put extra effort into something it adds something akin to a feeling of accomplishment. Almost a righteous feeling. Like the kind of feeling you get from choosing to not take the easy way out, fixing your mistake, cleaning up after your own mess … that sort of thing.

So I put my coat back on, grabbed my keys, went out across the frozen parking lot to my car and what do I see? Lo and behold, there in the cupholder was my cup of organic, fair trade, locally roasted, freshly ground coffee brewed in my french press, still hot my favorite 32 ounce to-go mug.

Vindication! Sometimes you get rewarded for choosing to not take the easy way out, without having to actually do the extra work you were going to do. Definitely a righteous feeling.

Damn, this coffee tastes good!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. And we both know, in the words of Alfréd Rényi, that “A mathematician is a machine for turning coffee into theorems.”

  2. Now I am not an English major (praise the Lord) but I can recognize a mixed metaphor when I see one! Mind you, as we used to say in New Zealand, drinking Budweiser *is* like making love in a canoe…I’ll let you work out what that means 😉

  3. I thought Paul Erdös said that. *checks wikipedia* Ah, it seems the quote has been attributed to both of them.

  4. http://xkcd.com/599/

  5. See now. I need to remember more stories like this for my life. I just got up here to my new home in Massachewsetts and what do I find? A 32 ounce cup of organic, fair trade, locally roasted, freshly ground coffee made in a french press coffee.

    Damn, this coffee tastes good!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

