Math is Delicious!

August 13, 2008 at 11:47 am | Posted in books, comics, life, math, motorcycles, technology | 6 Comments

Check out Questionable Content, one of my favorite webcomics. It’s about a bunch of 20somethings centered around a coffee shop. I’m currently wearing this t-shirt. There are others here. Good geeky stuff.

In the meantime, I’m doing math a lot these days. The REU inspired me to get this paper that I’ve been procrasti- … er, working on, out. And for a week and a half now I’ve been incredibly productive! Talk about taking the bull by the horns and running with your nose to the wheel! It’s been great, and it looks like I’m going to meet my self-imposed deadline of getting this paper presentable, at least to a couple of colleagues to look over, and without qualifiers like, “Ignore the formatting errors in chapter three,” or, “I know the proof in the Hermitian case needs work.” This is going to be a no-qualifiers, one edit away from submission to a journal, state of done-ness.

This makes me very happy. It almost makes me not mind so much that my motorcycle’s been in the shop for a week and a half. I think I’ll call them. They said a part was on order last week, and that it’d take several days to get, so it’s not totally unexpected that it has taken this long, but I’m getting antsy.

What else is going on? Jenny’s tummy is unhappy, so neither of us got much sleep last night. My poor sweetie. 😦 She’s been doing lots of riding on her bike, though. Good for her! She’s taking it slow, practicing on the college campus after hours and on local residential roads. She’s concentrating on having excellent control, and building experience, and therefore confidence, little by little. We can’t wait til we can ride together, each on our own bike!

One and a half weeks until classes start. There was a recent issue with one of my textbooks. One company bought the textbook I was using from another company and raised the price by over 60% from the last edition. Then they had the nerve to ship us hardcover copies of the old edition, and were charging the inflated price! I sent one of the nastiest emails I’ve every sent, and it looks like it’s being taken care of at no cost to us. We’re getting the new editions, and my textbook manager won’t have to have our bookstore pay to send the old copies back. If it all works out, I’ll have no ill feelings about the publisher. I may not use this book again at this price (it’s a bit late to change at this point), but we’ll have to see.

Now I’m off to a clicker demo. “Clickers” are used for ConcepTests, classroom voting and such, and the college is evaluating several systems from various vendors. I use them regularly. I don’t recall if I’ve posted any entries about them. There’s lots of info online if you want to google “clickers,” or “conceptests.” Ta-ta!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The Hannelore Worries tshirt is one of my favorites. I wear it when I want to confuse people. 🙂

  2. I’m thinking of adding the Evolution Kills one to my collection. By the way, your blog looks amazing. So professional! I’ve got to get mine into shape. Ah, but when? If not this week, then not this year, I fear.

  3. My tummy’s feeling a bit better now.

    I am looking forward to riding with you, but at the same time I’m worried. I am doing pretty ok by myself, and I’m worried that when I’m out on the streets with you I’ll be too worried about you noticing all the things that I’m still doing wrong (and usually know that I’m doing wrong) since I’ve been going out alone and feel like I’ve got more control then I’ll come home and find out how I suck even more than I thought I did 😦

  4. I just read the comic that your t-shirt is based on. I gotta say that I think the t-shirt should be pizza instead of cereal based 🙂

  5. Jenny: In time, you’ll learn to ride smoothly no matter who’s watching you.

  6. […] 18, 2008 at 2:28 pm | In life, math, motorcycles | Just a couple of updates on stuff from my last entry. My paper is done, and it will likely be submitted to a journal this week! I’m very […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

