I’m a trekkie.

June 14, 2008 at 10:02 pm | Posted in art, life, quirky, tattoos | 9 Comments

Ok, how many people do you know who are trekkies?

No, I mean REAL trekkies. Real science-fiction convention attending, episode memorizing, trekkies. Folks with more than just a casual appreciation for the series. Borderline fanatics, you might say.

I suspect I may be among that group.

I have a Star Trek tattoo. How freaky is that?

I watched Star Trek on Saturday afternoons on channel 11 with my Dad in the late seventies when the original series was on reruns. Of course I loved Mr. Spock. I was the logical, math, computer nerd in middle and high schools. I went to a technical college, and when Star Trek: The Next Generation started, my friends and I were glued to the TV set. We had Star Trek parties in the dorm. The first two seasons sucked, but we still watched them, because it was Star Trek. It didn’t start strong, but it had the lineage. And, by some miracle, Paramount didn’t sabotage the series in the third series like it did the original, and the third series was the best yet. They actually started writing continuing storylines and fleshing out and evolving characters. They created Worf’s Klingon heritage and the associated socio-political drama. Wesley stopped being quite so damn annoying. And Picard built up some muscle and got some of the babes instead of Riker. And there were four more awesome seasons after that, including the Borg. And three more whole series. And movies.

Anyway, the point is, I’ve been a trekkie for a long time. I don’t have a star trek uniform. I haven’t gone to a Star Trek convention. I don’t even have any cast member’s autograph.

But I think I’ve finally “joined the club.” I have a Star Trek tattoo.

Here’s the thing. Jenny, my partner/wife, first got hooked on Star Trek: Voyager, the fourth series. [EDIT: Jenny originally got into Next Gen, and followed Voyager from the beginning.] She was way into it. I didn’t like it so much. After all, the first season or two sucked. Oh, wait, but then it got good. She showed me that, and we bonded over Trek. (Among other things.) Add to it all that we have been trying to find a joint tattoo design for years. We tried infinity rings, pi symbols, celtic knotwork … and it just didn’t click. Finally, we came together on Star Trek.

Jenny saw two Star Trek tattoos online. Well, more than just two, but two of them had the insignia on the upper left chest, just where it is on the uniform. One from the original series, and one from one of the later series. Almost a year later, we decided that we would get our matching tattoos, and they would be … wait for it …

Star Trek comm badges!

I got a modified Next Gen comm badge, and J got a modified Voyager comm badge. We’re hoping they can still talk to each other. 24th century comm badges would be advanced enough to have backwards compatibility, wouldn’t they?

I’ll post pics later.

I’m so giddy! (And in a little bit of pain. Tattoos still hurt a bit.)

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Actually, I was watching STNG back when it was on tv. I did it when nobody could see me or openly when I was at my godmother’s house. I tried to get into DS9 just because I liked STNG, but it never worked out. DS9 is too dark for my tastes. When Voyager came on, I was ready. I watched it from the start, and I’ve seen it straight through a few times.

    You did teach me to enjoy TOS, though. I wasn’t really into it (I’d never seen an episode, but I’d seen a portion of the whale movie and thought it was worthless.

    You are correcting this right now so that it doesn’t say I didn’t watch ST till Voyager, so some of this comment will confuse people 🙂

  2. I eagerly await pictures.

    Also, when you run out of Star Trek to watch, I highly recommend Babylon 5 and Battlestar Galactica.

  3. That is awesome.

    I’m a trek dabbler. I was a huge fan of Next Generation, coming to it late, after it stopped sucking. (Those first two seasons are rough to watch.)

    I also started off liking Voyager, but finally had to come on board with how much it sucked, and then I bailed before it got good.

    I also left DS9 before it really started rolling.

    And I enjoyed that other one, with the theme song, for what it was. Though I wanted to send the English guy into space without any life support.

    And let’s face it, that was pure heritage loyalty. Take the same theme song, make it incredibly good, and color me Firefly.

    looking forward to the pictures.

  4. Wow! Can’t wait to see the tattoos!

    I’m so sorry about Bailey.

    Thanks for calling – and maybe we’ll see you this summer.

  5. So, does this mean I can expect to see you at Dragon*Con in Atlanta, over Labor Day weekend?

  6. I should follow up on this post. The tattoo is a bit more than mine and Jenny’s joint expressions of geekiness.

    The two of us were looking for quite a while for a tattoo that both of us would get, or complimentary tattoos, that would symbolize our union/partership/marriage. We futzed around with various designs, infinity symbols, interlocking rings, etc. Nothing really grabbed us.

    One of our most favorite parts of our honeymoon is Las Vegas was going to the Star Trek Experience in the Hilton. We both bought the “Latinum Package,” which included a backstage tour, photos on the bridge of the Next Gen Enterprise and in Borg assimilation chambers, and admission to both rides. It was so much fun.

    So, when we first seriously considered this idea, it was for the love of Star Trek, but also as a symbol of our connection. The tattoos are not the same, but they complement each other. They represent our similarities, our differences, our selves before we met and times we’ve shared since … it just works for us. Each stands alone, but they (we) are even more awesome together.

  7. Replies:

    Firefly is awesome.

    Bab5 and Galactica are on my list.

    No DragonCon for me.

    🙂

  8. Love it. What a great way to stay “connnected!” One always wants to feel that their spouse and they share a special line of communication. Now you have a button for it. (Don’t tell me you won’t actually tap it sometimes when you want to talk to each other; I won’t believe it.)

    For the record, my favorite Trek series is DSN, after it got good. I loved all of the wrapped together evolving story lines. I suppose it was a bit dark, which is funny, becasue I generally don’t prefer dark movies/series, but somehow this one never felt dark to me. I guess I always felt like I was seated next to Jullian and Miles, with a big ol’ grin on my face, no matter what chaos was happening.

    I’m enjoying Enterprise from the beggining right now (Reed Alert?!?!? Too funny.) I’ll have to rewatch voyager at some point. I wonder how many episodes I never saw.

  9. We just got the best Star Trek box set ever. It’s a package deal from deep discount dvd. It’s the Fan Collective Box Set. It’s got various episodes voted favorites by each of the captains in the shows, and fans’ favorites. It’s got a box of Q episodes, a box of Klingon episodes, a box of Borg episodes … it’s just awesome. Thanks, Dad!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

