Speaking of music and renaissance faires …

March 2, 2008 at 1:21 pm | Posted in festivals, local, music | 5 Comments

Yesterday I went to the Potsdam museum to see a performance by Stan Ransom, a folk musician who lives near Plattsburgh, New York. The focus of the performance was the hammered dulcimer, a percussive, melodic instrument with a long and rich history. It is often played at renaissance festivals, and it was at the NY Renaissance Festival that I first remember hearing, and falling in love with, the sound of the hammered dulcimer.

Over the years, I have entertained the idea that I might one day learn to play the hammered dulcimer. I came dangerously close at times, but I never picked up a hammer before yesterday. It felt really good. Stan told me of a festival in the Adirondacks, the Northeast Dulcimer Symposium, and it just sounds wonderful. I probably won’t try to pick it up until next year, but when I’m ready to take the leap, it seems very doable. Besides, a hammered dulcimer would cost about $500, and I have to save up. I know they can cost much more than that, but I won’t spend more than that for my first one. As long as it sounds good and has a few octaves, I’d be happy. Also, I just started TKD, and I don’t want too many new projects at once.

But it’s still very exciting!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’ve always thought the hammered dulcimer was pretty cool too. Performers of the instrument seem to become entranced while playing it. Here’s a YouTube clip you’ve probably already seen of a young fellow rocking out on an HD:

    Dude with Fast Hands on Dulcimer

  2. Wow. That’s one heck of a performance. I had to fight back the urge to stand and applaud the YouTube video!

    Another dulcimer player you may find worth listening to is Jem Moore. Derek, Jenny and I heard him at AZRF several years ago. His “Lost Tower” album is one of my favorites.

  3. I came across this post by searching for Hammer Dulcimer. A few months ago I bought a HD on ebay for $300. Pretty cheap for a 16/15. Anyway, learning it has been easier than I thought it would be. And it’s been a blast! Very forgiving instrument 🙂

    Rich Mullins was another well known HD player. He played a few other instruments as well. Definitely check him out, the best music I’ve ever heard! His music is the reason I picked up a HD.

    I hope you persue the instrument!

  4. Here’s a post I put up recently. Again this is after only a few months of learning (and I don’t really play any other instruments)…

    http://crisjesse.wordpress.com/2009/05/19/my-hammer-dulcimer/

  5. Hi Cris. Thanks for reading, posting, and linking! It’s good that you were able to get such a good deal on ebay. I haven’t picked one up yet, but it’s still on my list.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

