JMM 2008

January 18, 2008 at 9:14 am | Posted in conference, math | Leave a comment

Not counting travel days, we were only in San Diego for 3 days. Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday, 1/6-1/8. The first was spend going to talks, preparing for my talk on Monday, and meeting up with colleagues/friends I haven’t seen in a while. It would have been the day to meet up with other folks. See a couple of days before I left, my Dad told me I have a relative out there, and my chair told me we have an alum out there. I had grand plans of meeting up with both of them, but it just didn’t work out.

Then Monday came and I gave my talk. Received well, I think, and I went a few minutes over, so there were no questions. The organizer made some comments afterward, though, and asked me for a preprint. So that was good. Now I have time pressure to get that going. I work better with deadlines, so this is good.

Tuesday I started coming down with the flu. I was achy, and starting to get a touch of the fever. I know because I went to the wrong talk and didn’t realize it. It’s over a week later and I’m still trying to kick this last little bit.

Other stuff that happened, I found a great puzzle in the exhibitors’ area. I’ll post the link when I find it. I also met up with various folks from Project NExT, Montclair State University and other places. Jenny & I had some really good food. Good Thai in particular. Oh, I organized the 3rd annual University of Arizona JMM get-together. I think it’s time to organize this ahead of time and get a room and a spot in the program. I wonder if I’ll be going next year.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

