MAA Seaway Section Meeting

October 29, 2007 at 2:14 am | Posted in conference, math | 2 Comments

Last weekend I and three other faculty brought 10 of our undergrad students to a local conference in Rochester, NY.  None of them had ever been to a conference before, and they liked it.  Joe Gallian was scheduled to speak, and he’s just a great speaker, I had to take them.  They were so psyched, they want to start a student chapter of the MAA.  Very cool!  I’ve got to bug folks this week to figure out how to be an advisor for a math club.  I guess the trip worked a little too well!  A good friend of mine describes these as “problems we like to have.”

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Too much product! Very good problem to have!

    (darn that chemist)

    BTW, great to “hear” from you!

  2. Yeah, it’s been darn busy. Glad I took a crowbar to my schedule and wedged in the time to do it.

    Re. the students: I’m having my students in my Honors Linear Algebra course doing a paper/poster project instead of a 3rd test. The national conferences often have undergraduate poster competitions with monetary prizes. The material needs to have original material — student research. I figure this poster project could be a “trial run” for some of these students. They’re mostly sophomores, so they have two chances to enter into competitions at the joint MAA/AMS meetings in January.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

