We’re going to San Diego!

July 19, 2007 at 1:04 pm | Posted in conference, life, math | 2 Comments

I’ve been invited to speak in a special session at the Joint Math Meetings in January in San Diego! Woo-hoo!!

Ok, for those of you who aren’t privvy to the math-world, let me fill y’all in. This is not Nobel Prize level, Fulbright level, … nothing like that. All it means is that I’m a working mathematician, and I’m social enough to talk to people with similar interests. The “special session” is a group of mathematicians working in the same area as my dissertation was in. I was excited to find the special session two years ago at the JMM in San Antonio, and last year I struck up a conversation with the organizers. I also told them my office mate and colleague Arlo was working in the same area, and he got an invite, too.

My school is paying for my trip since I’m presenting, so Jenny and I are chipping in the rest so she can come, too. Finally, my wife is travelling with me to one of these conferences! Of course, I’ll be busy a lot of the time with math stuff and hanging out with math folks. After all, that’s part of what got me this invite in the first place. But there’s some talks she might be interested in, and she’s used to hanging with math folks. She even likes it sometimes. We may see some friends we haven’t seen in a while, too. And then we’ll spend some time alone together doing stuff. The old town is pretty cool from what I remember.

All the academics who read this blog will be completely nonplussed by this news. It’s life as an academic. Pretty ordinary, actually … nothing to write home about. But it’s a first for me — an invited research talk. And so, it’s worth recording to me.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You’ve moved from neophyte to full-fledged academic. You’ve leveled. 😀 It is indeed worth recording.

    Congratulations!

  2. Too funny!

    I just found out I’m going to a conference in San Diego too, but I’m not presenting, so it isn’t nearly as cool.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

