Green vets

July 15, 2007 at 3:31 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Funny, the day after I talk about going green, I find this in one of the lists I’m on. We were talking about what mileage people are getting.

“The subject of fuel efficiency is very close to my heart because I had to give up 18 months of my life to go fight in Iraq; so that a bunch of mindless slave consumers could drive gas guzzling yank tanks down to Wal-Mart.”

First of all, I deeply appreciate the sacrifice this man and others have made, and his statement shows how it’s possible to support the troops, but not the war..

Secondly, I believe this war accomplished more than just preserving some Americans’ excessive and shallow way of life. (For example, removing Saddam.) I don’t think war was necessarily the only, or even the best, way to go about achieving those ends; sometimes war is the best/only way, but I do not believe so here.

Nevertheless, some good things have been accomplished in this war, though terrible the price.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

