Impromptu

May 6, 2007 at 3:25 pm | Posted in canada, life | 3 Comments

This weekend, Jenny was supposed to visit her friend in Boston. Delta airlines started running flights from a local smallish airport to Boston. She’d have landed there at 8am Saturday, and been back home by 9:30pm Sunday.

Well, the flight was coming from another local airport, but it was busted in some way. It was delayed for 2 hours, then the mechanic never showed up. Then all the people from the other airport (where the busted plane was) were trucked over to Syracuse to be rebooked on different flights, leaving Jenny and the others at her airport cooling their heels for hours more.

In the mean time, I wake up from my nap (I drove Jenny to the airport at 4am), check my messages and find out what’s going on. It’s mid morning now, and I figure she’s getting hungry, so I pack up some leftovers, get her a medium decaf hot tea with milk and Splenda on the side from Dunkin Donuts, and make the 45 minute drive again. I switched out the CDs in my trucklet, and brought my iPod with podcasts of Science Friday (thanks, Edz!) for the trip. Of course I called on the way to check the status of her flight to make sure the plane didn’t arrive in the middle of my preparations. Sure enough, she was still stuck.

So I arrive to Jenny knitting angrily, and her audience of fellow disaffected travellers and TSA agents hearing about how amazing a husband I am. After she enjoys her lunch, the guy at the terminal, who has been on hold with Delta on and off for hours, says that they’re supposedly going to take off at 3pm. Jenny demands her money back, since she’s flying right back tomorrow afternoon, and surprise surprise she gets it! They refunded a non-refundable ticket. Ok, Delta could have should have handled it better, but at least we weren’t completely screwed. Jenny called her friend in Boston to give her the bad news, and her friend jokingly suggested we go into Canada since we were right on the border and halfway to Ottawa anyway.

Hmm …

So to make a long story short (too late!) I seized the opportunity to save the day, and whisked Jenny off to Ottawa for the day. We hit our favorite thrift store, bummed around the Byward Square Market all afternoon, and had super sushi for dinner and fried ice cream for dessert at Wasabi Japanese Restaurant And Sushi Bar. I also got a Pac-Man belt buckle, and Jenny got a pretty henna tattoo. The only bummer of the day was that the henna ended up not taking to her skin. Either it was bad/old henna, or the people gave her bad instructions.

It was a great day, and the bad flight experience was all but erased.

Now, I go back to work. Back here in the real world, it’s the last week of the semester, and I’m super busy again.

It was a great escape for a day, though.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. *giggles* I see that you’ve got no problems bragging with how awesome a husband you are and how your amazing magical abilities can turn a huge bad event into one of the bestest events EVER. Glad to see it, I am. Yes, yes, yes. 🙂

  2. It’s about time you got up to visit my home town, Ottawa!

  3. I didn’t realize you were from Ottawa, Maureen! I’m sure you told me, but it was just the capital of Canada back then. Now I’ve actualy BEEN!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

