Cold Brew, Take Two

July 11, 2011 at 10:17 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: , ,

It’s been a few weeks since I first tried cold-brewed coffee, and I just finished drinking my third batch. (Melanie Brault from Trung Nguyen Coffee wrote a nice short piece on the process here at ineedcoffee.com.)

After the concentrate is made, the procedure is to fill my coffee cup 1/4 or 1/5 of the way with the concentrate, and fill it with boiling water to make a full cup of normal strength really good coffee. However, since I store the concentrate in the fridge, my cup of coffee was delicious at first, but it became colder than I enjoy within 5 minutes of pouring. To fix this problem, I’d just microwave the cup (1/4 full of concentrate) for 22 seconds before adding boiling water. That seems to work fine.

For my second batch, I used a modified version of the recipe in my previous post: only one cup of coffee beans instead of two, and I’m brewed for 24 hours instead of 12. Everything else is the same — I’m brewed in my large French press at room temperature. Note that the measurement is done *before* grinding. You’ll have to experiment yourself if you’re using ground coffee. I’m used Sumatra beans from Wild Rose Coffee Co. in Tucson, Arizona.

So, how does it compare? The finished product is comparable, but I have to use twice as much concentrate as before. So I’m going back to my original recipe.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. When you get here, I’ve got a wee tiny set-up for you to look at and then make cold brew from :-) I’ve also got to remember to borrow the 1-cup french press from A. so that you will have coffee in the morning instead of sharing my tea.

    *ponders* Maybe I should not get the french press so that you have to learn to drink tea in the morning MUAAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!

  2. What a mean streak!

    • MEAN?!?! I would supply you with only the finest, high quality teas! I might even buy that black puer I was sampling earlier.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

